Extra Normal Banner
Artists Info News Tickets Directions Accommodation Contact Archive

Contra Pop banner

Geraldine Swayne, Chris Cutler, Yumi Hara, jhp|aRt-ErroRist
Clockwise from top left: Geraldine Swayne, Chris Cutler, Yumi Hara, jhp|aRt-ErroRist

For Contra Pop 2016, jhp|aRt-ErroRist has put together an improvisational supergroup of the highest order.
What follows is a breakdown of the artistic forces of nature making up this dynamic quartet:

Jean-Hervé Péron, born in Casablanca, raised in Cherbourg, student in Schenectady/NY, beatnik on European roads, founder member of faUSt in Hamburg, french passport but german at heart, has mainly done mistakes in his life and decided to declare it Art: so became jhp|aRt-ErroRist.

Geraldine Swayne is a painter, musician and experimental film maker based in London. She has worked and performed with Jean-Hervé Péron for seven years – playing, recording and painting live on stage. Contra Pop 2016 sees Swayne continue her fruitful relationship with Péron along with fellow past collaborators Chris Cutler and Yumi Hara.

Chris Cutler worked in soul and RnB bands and with British experimentalists, Henry Cow; pursued song form in Art Bears, Cassiber,
The Science Group and many others. Was in Pere Ubu, worked with The Residents, wrote for orchestras, made radio art pieces and ran a year-long soundscape programme for Resonance FM. Plays the C20 classics with the Hyperion Ensemble and the Bad Boys and has toured the world solo with his electrified kit. Has shown up with all the usual suspects everywhere as an improviser and is currently writing and producing a monthly lecture/podcast series for the Museum of Modern Art, Barcelona.

Yumi Hara is a Japanese musician based in London. She has written pieces for Contemporary classical ensembles such as PianoCircus, Ensemble Bash and Smith Quartet, but became increasingly known as an improvisor/performer in avant-rock/Canterbury/RIO since she released a CD with Hugh Hopper in 2008. She has subsequently worked with Geoff Leigh, Guy Harries, The Artaud Beats (with Geoff Leigh, Chris Cutler, John Greaves), you me & us (with Daevid Allen, Chris Cutler), Jump for Joy! (with Jean-Hervé Péron, Geraldine Swayne, Chris Cutler, Zappi, Geoff Leigh) and Half the Sky: Music of Lindsay Cooper (with Chris Cutler, Dagmar Krause, Chloe Herington, Mitsuru Nasuno, Miwazow, Wataru Okuma).